Empowering faculty

The College of Arts and Sciences is home to a number of endowed chairs and professorships. These endowed positions — steeped in tradition and illustrative of the powerful connection between faculty and philanthropists — are a true mark of academic excellence. They are one of the highest honors that an academic institution can bestow upon a faculty member and a vote of confidence in an arts and sciences education and its value to society.

Our faculty members are not only leaders in their respective fields, they are consistently recognized for their teaching, research and service — three tenets foundational to Ohio State’s land-grant mission. The College of Arts and Sciences utilizes these endowed positions to recruit, reward and retain our world-class faculty thanks to the support of our generous alumni and friends.

This fiscal year, our college had the opportunity to bestow 10 new and existing faculty members with chair and professorship titles, including two designated professorships — the first of their kind in the college — which are term positions and reward faculty in non-traditional or cross-disciplinary fields of study.

BraumoellerThe Andrei Baronov and Ratmir Timashev Endowed Chair in Data Analytics

Bear Braumoeller*
Professor, Department of Political Science

HochThe Endowed Chair for Director of The Ohio State University Marching Band

Christopher Hoch
Assistant Professor, School of Music, and Director, Marching and Athletic Bands

Al-JalladM.S. Sofia Chair in Arabic Studies

Ahmad Al-Jallad
Associate Professor, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures

YehudaiThe Saul and Sonia Schottenstein Chair in Israel Studies

Ori Yehudai*
Assistant Professor, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures

WinantThe Roy Lichtenstein Endowed Chair of Studio Art

Carmen Winant*
Associate Professor, Department of Art

PattersonThe Roy Lichtenstein Foundation Endowed Chair of Art History

Jody Patterson*
Associate Professor, Department of History of Art

BeacomThe Henry L. Cox Endowed Professorship

John Beacom
Distinguished Professor, Departments of Physics and Astronomy, and Director, Center for Cosmology and AstroParticle Physics

SkaggsThe Lawrence and Isabel Barnett Professorship of Arts Management

Rachel Skaggs*
Assistant Professor, Department of Arts Administration, Education and Policy

GardnerThe Joseph V. Denney Designated Professorship in English

Jared Gardner*
Professor, Department of English

ChapmanThe Sander and Mechele Flaum Designated Professorship in Fluency

Bridget Chapman*
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Speech and Hearing Science

If you are interested in supporting Arts and Sciences faculty, please contact the Office of Advancement at ascadvancement@osu.edu or 614-292-9200.

*Indicates inaugural holder