back to awards

James Beatty

AAAS Fellow, 2017

James Beatty, professor of physics and astronomy, was elected as a 2017 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for his distinguished contributions to experimental particle astrophysics, particularly studies of ultrahigh energy cosmic rays, neutrinos and antiparticles, and for distinguished service as an academic leader.

AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific organization, has named fellows every year since 1874, with notable previous fellows including Thomas Edison, Margaret Mead and James Watson. It is one of the most prestigious honors given to U.S. researchers who have made exceptional efforts to advance science. Fellows are selected by their academic peers.