back to awards

Kurt Fredrick

AAAS Fellow, 2019

Kurt Fredrick, professor in the Department of Microbiology, was elected as a 2019 Fellow of the American Association for the Advacement of Science for his contributions to the field of translation and protein synthesis, particularly with respect to the molecular mechanisms of initiation, translocation and decoding.

AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific organization, has named fellows every year since 1874, with notable previous fellows including Thomas Edison, Margaret Mead and James Watson. It is one of the most prestigious honors given to U.S. researchers who have made exceptional efforts to advance science. Fellows are selected by their academic peers.