back to awards

John Bruno

Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor, 2018

John Bruno, professor and chair of the Department of Psychology, has built an international reputation in several interdisciplinary fields at the intersection of psychology and neuroscience. He is considered a pioneer in several areas of behavioral neuroscience research and has been continuously funded over his scientific career (serving as a principal investigator for Ohio State grants exceeding $7 million). Bruno’s extensive research career has allowed him to publish more than 150 peer-reviewed articles and 20 book chapters.

The Bruno laboratory has been responsible for a number of significant and innovative research findings, including: a) observations of age-dependent plasticity following certain types of brain trauma that spare the developing brain from the deficits seen following similar trauma to the mature brain; b) the neurobiological regulation of sustained attention and vigilance and the vital role played by cholinergic projections to prefrontal and parietal cortices; and c) the role of drugs that enhance the release of cortical acetylcholine and glutamate as cognition-enhancers in several translational models of clinical syndromes (depression, schizophrenia).

Bruno has received teaching awards at every level of the university — alumni (1994), college (1995), and departmental (1993, 2009). He was awarded the University Service Award in 2004 for his involvement with University Senate, Honors, as well as his faculty oversight role with the Department of Athletics. He is the former president of the International Behavioral Neuroscience Society (IBNS, 2001) and an elected Fellow in IBNS (1995) as well as the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (2016).

Bruno is also the recipient of the Joan N. Huber Fellowship from Social and Behavioral Sciences (2005) as well as the founding director of the highly successful College of Arts and Sciences interdisciplinary undergraduate major in neuroscience (2011-2015). Bruno received his PhD from Johns Hopkins University.