back to events listing

Forbidden Zones: The Great War

During the centenary of America’s 1917 entry into World War I, the Department of Theatre marks this occasion by creating a new work centering on this world conflict. This war, which introduced industrialized warfare on a massive scale amidst a wave of belligerent nationalism, ranks as one of the world’s deadliest conflicts and dramatically changed Europe’s and the Middle East’s borders. The source material is drawn from contemporary documents, letters, memoirs, poetry, commissioned art and popular music with a focus on Britain and France and their famous Somme Offensive, the largest battle on the Western front. 

The production title, inspired by a memoir by the American nurse Mary Borden and only recently considered one of the great texts of the First World War, references the name given by the French Army to the strip of land that was immediately located behind the zone of fire where she was stationed for four years with her mobile hospital unit.

Production support: Division of Arts and Humanities in the College of Arts and Sciences, Mershon Center for International Security Studies, Department of History

Military History Consultant: Bruno Cabanes, Professor & Donald G. & Mary A. Dunn Chair in Modern Military History, Department of History

Performance Dates:
Wednesday, March 29, at 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 30 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, March 31 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 1 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 2 at 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 4 at 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 5 at 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 6 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, April 7 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 8 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 9 at 3 p.m. 

Tickets:
General public: $20; faculty, staff and Alumni Association members and senior citizens: $18; students: $15. Contact the Ohio State Theatre ticket office (614) 292-2295 for tickets. 

The latest Dept. of Theatre production (3/29-4/8) honors the 100th anniversary of America’s entry into WWI #ASCDaily


Top