From misinformation and racial equality to foreign policy and climate change, there's no shortage of topics to explore around an extraordinary election cycle that continues to evolve.

The College of Arts and Sciences is home to world-renowned faculty with deep knowledge in fields that voters are passionate about. Find a list of experts below:

Politics, voting and elections in the U.S.

Paul Beck, professor emeritus, political science
Areas of expertise: U.S. elections, voting behavior, political parties and public opinion
Contact: beck.9@osu.edu

Lawrence Baum, professor emeritus, political science
Areas of expertise: courts in the United States, explanation of judges' behavior in decision making, the causes and consequences of judicial specialization and the functioning of state elections of judges
Contact: baum.4@osu.edu

Rachel Bowen, associate professor, political science
Areas of expertise: Central American politics, gender and politics, human rights, women's rights, courts and constitutional law in the U.S. and Latin America, anti-corruption, democratization and de-democratization, violence against women (international/ Latin America)
Contact: bowen.208@osu.edu

Michael Neblo, professor, political science
Areas of expertise: democratic innovations, political psychology, Congress and constituents
Contact: neblo.1@osu.edu

Nathaniel Swigger, associate professor, political science
Areas of expertise: American politics, public opinion, political psychology and elections
Contact: swigger.1@osu.edu 

Wendy Smooth, associate professor, political science, women's, gender and sexuality studies
Areas of expertise: women’s experiences in political institutions and the impact of public policies on women’s lives
Contact: smooth.1@osu.edu

Politics, voting and elections outside the U.S.

Rachel Bowen, associate professor, political science
Areas of expertise: Central American politics, gender and politics, human rights, women's rights, courts and constitutional law in the U.S. and Latin America, anti-corruption, democratization and de-democratization, violence against women (international/ Latin America)
Contact: bowen.208@osu.edu

Yana Hashamova, professor, Slavic and East European languages and cultures
Areas of expertise: current Russian culture and politics, film and media of Eastern Europe/Russia, Russian misinformation and disinformation
Contact: hashamova.1@osu.edu

Benjamin Hoffmann, associate professor, French and Italian
Areas of expertise: France, French culture and literature, French politics
Contact: hoffmann.312@osu.edu

Eric Schoon, assistant professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: legitimacy, contentious politics, political legitimacy, armed conflict, Turkey
Contact: schoon.1@osu.edu

Pedro Schacht Pereira, associate professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Areas of expertise: literatures and cultures of the Portuguese-speaking world (Portugal, Brazil, Angola, Mozambique, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, São Tomé e Príncipe, Timor Leste), cultural, social and political issues (such as racial justice) related to Portugal
Contact: pereira.37@osu.edu

Health and COVID-19

Sam Clark, professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: demography, epidemiology, statistics, Africa - population and health
Contact: clark.2962@osu.edu

Jeffrey Cohen, professor, anthropology
Areas of expertise: migration, migrants and refugees, Mexico, COVID-19 and indigenous peoples, food and culture, economic development, entomophagy, anthropology, minority responses to COVID-19, social inequality
Contact: cohen.319@osu.edu

Cynthia Colen, associate professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: health disparities in the U.S., discrimination & health, racial inequalities in health, maternal and child health, middle-class African Americans, social mobility and health
Contact: colen.3@osu.edu

Huyen Le, assistant professor, geography
Areas of expertise: urban transportation and associated issues such as equity, physical activity, well-being, health, environmental impacts
Contact: le.253@osu.edu

Brittany Shoots-Reinhard, research associate professor, psychology
Areas of expertise: decision making, persuasive communication, numeracy, risk perceptions, risk communication, health decision making, COVID-19 beliefs and decisions, political ideology, tobacco warning labels, risky driving, distracted driving
Contact: shoots-reinhard.1@osu.edu

Kristi Williams, professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: childhood adversity/trauma, contemporary family issues, demographic family patterns, population health and health disparities, gender differences in family experiences and mental and physical health
Contact: williams.2339@osu.edu

Economic policies

Paul Bellair, professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: economic conditions and crime rates, work and recidivism of former prisoners, race differences in delinquency and violence
Contact: bellair.1@osu.edu

Trevon Logan, professor, economics
Areas of expertise: health economics, economic demography, economic history
Contact: logan.155@osu.edu

Benjamin McKean, associate professor, political science
Areas of expertise: populism, economic justice, supply chains, labor rights, the value of solidarity
Contact: mckean.41@osu.edu

Lauren Valentino, assistant professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: inequality, gender, socioeconomic status/class, race, work/occupations, education
Contact: asccomm@osu.edu

Bruce Weinberg, professor, economics
Areas of experitse: U.S. economics, wage structures, racial and gender wage gaps
Contact: weinberg.27@osu.edu

Racial and social justice and equity

Rachel Bowen, associate professor, political science
Areas of expertise: Central American politics, gender and politics, human rights, women's rights, courts and constitutional law in the U.S. and Latin America, anti-corruption, democratization and de-democratization, violence against women (international/ Latin America)
Contact: bowen.208@osu.edu

Joan Cashin, professor, history
Areas of expertise: American history in the Civil War era, women's history, history of slavery, confederate monuments, social/economic/cultural history of the mid-19th century
Contact: cashin.2@osu.edu 

Cynthia Colen, associate professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: health disparities in the U.S., discrimination & health, racial inequalities in health, maternal and child health, middle-class African Americans, social mobility and health
Contact: colen.3@osu.edu

Simone Drake, professor, African American and African studies
Areas of expertise: race and gender studies, black masculinities and black feminisms, cultural studies, legal studies, visual and popular culture and media, African American literary studies, African Diaspora studies, public humanities, social justice
Contact: drake.194@osu.edu

Ryan King, professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: criminal justice, imprisonment rates, criminal sentencing, hate crimes
Contact: king.2065@osu.edu

Treva Lindsey, associate professor, women's, gender and sexuality studies
Areas of expertise: Black feminism(s), Hip hop studies, critical race and gender theory, sexual politics, African diaspora studies, Black popular and expressive culture, African American women’s history
Contact: lindsey.268@osu.edu

Margaret Ellen Newell, professor, history
Areas of expertise: Native American history, indigenous history and Indian slavery, slavery in Early America, American Revolution, monuments
Contact: newell.20@osu.edu

Jasmine Roberts, lecturer, communication
Areas of expertise: digital activism, affordable learning, open education, Black Lives Matter, Black queer studies, LGBTQ, Black feminism, textbook affordability, racial injustice, gender/women's issues, first-generation students
Contact: roberts.827@osu.edu

Wendy Smooth, associate professor, political science, women's, gender and sexuality studies
Areas of expertise: women’s experiences in political institutions and the impact of public policies on women’s lives
Contact: smooth.1@osu.edu

Maurice Stevens, professor, comparative studies
Areas of expertise: critical trauma theory, critical race theory, cultural studies
Contact: asccomm@osu.edu

Lauren Valentino, assistant professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: inequality, gender, socioeconomic status/class, race, work/occupations, education
Contact: asccomm@osu.edu

Foreign policy and national security

Bear Braumoeller, Baronov and Timashev Chair in Data Analytics, professor, political science
Areas of expertise: international security and computational social science, the relationship between international order and international conflict
Contact: braumoeller.1@osu.edu

Peter Hahn, professor, history, dean, arts and humanities
Areas of expertise
: U.S. foreign policy in the Middle East, modern U.S. history
Contact: hahn.29@osu.edu

Peter Mansoor, Mason Chair, history
Areas of expertise: former U.S. Army colonel, national security affairs, military history
Contact: mansoor.1@osu.edu

Eric Schoon, assistant professor, sociology
Areas of expertise: legitimacy, contentious politics, political legitimacy, armed conflict, Turkey
Contact: schoon.1@osu.edu

Immigration

Jeffrey Cohen, professor, anthropology
Areas of expertise: migration, migrants and refugees, Mexico, COVID-19 and indigenous peoples, food and culture, economic development, entomophagy, anthropology, minority responses to COVID-19, social inequality
Contact: cohen.319@osu.edu

Maysan Haydar, lecturer, history
Areas of expertise: western Muslims, immigration and migration, refugee issue
Contact: haydar@osu.edu

Environmental issues and climate change

Audrey Sawyer, associate professor, Earth sciences
Areas of expertise: groundwater, nutrients, streams, Lake Erie, coastal groundwater, groundwater in developing countries
Contact: sawyer.143@osu.edu

Lonnie G. Thompson, Distinguished University Professor, Earth sciences, Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center
Areas of expertise: paleoclimatology, climate change, glaciology, glacier retreat
Contact: thompson.3@osu.edu 

Sam White, associate professor, history
Areas of expertise: environmental history, historical climate variability, climate extremes, and disasters and their impact on societies
Contact: white.2426@osu.edu

Anna Willow, professor, anthropology
Areas of expertise: environmental justice, environmental activism, shale energy/fracking (social dimensions), Native American issues and cultural sensitivity
Contact: willow.1@osu.edu

Media and communication

Hyunyi Cho, professor, communication
Areas of expertise: communication, media, health communication, risk communication, media literacy, culture, race, Asian Americans
Contact: cho.919@osu.edu

Nicole Kraft, associate professor-clinical, communication
Areas of expertise: sports and society, sports media, sports coverage, journalism, fake news, media law, media ethics
Contact: kraft.42@osu.edu

Jasmine Roberts, lecturer, communication
Areas of expertise: digital activism, affordable learning, open education, Black Lives Matter, Black queer studies, LGBTQ, Black feminism, textbook affordability, racial injustice, gender/women's issues, first-generation students
Contact: roberts.827@osu.edu

Brittany Shoots-Reinhard, research associate professor, psychology
Areas of expertise: decision making, persuasive communication, numeracy, risk perceptions, risk communication, health decision making, COVID-19 beliefs and decisions, political ideology, tobacco warning labels, risky driving, distracted driving
Contact: shoots-reinhard.1@osu.edu

Top