back to news March 31, 2022

Undergraduate astronomy student honored with Goldwater Scholarship

Mackenzie Scott, a third-year honors student majoring in astronomy and astrophysics and physics with a minor in history, was recognized by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships and Excellence in Education Program.

Scott was one of four Ohio State students named 2022 Goldwater Scholars, the prestigious national award for undergraduate researchers in science, math and engineering. Goldwater Scholars receive an award to cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500.

Scott aims to earn a PhD in astrophysics to conduct research in cosmology and stellar evolution. Her research at Ohio State is advised by Michael Lisa, professor in the Department of Physics.

“I am honored to win the Goldwater Scholarship and I am excited to see my hard work paying off,” she said.

“Senator Goldwater epitomized key elements of Ohio State’s own mission: independent thinking and a deep commitment to service,” said President Kristina M. Johnson. “He not only served his country for more than half a century as a soldier and statesman, but also refused to be pigeonholed by a single ideology and spoke up vociferously for what he believed was right. It is a true honor that Ohio State has consistently produced Goldwater Scholars since the award’s inception, and also a testament to the academic rigor of our undergraduate programs. I wholeheartedly congratulate this year’s awardees and look forward to seeing the results of their ongoing scholarship.”

Since the award’s inception in 1986, Ohio State has produced 69 Goldwater Scholars; 61 of the university’s previous 68 nominees have been recognized as a scholar or honorable mention. This is the fourth time in Ohio State history in which all four nominees have received the award; the previous three occurred in 2007, 2019 and 2020. In three of the last four competition cycles, all four Ohio State nominees have been named Goldwater Scholars

In all, 417 scholarships were awarded to sophomores and juniors based on academic merit from a field of 1,242 mathematics, science and engineering students who were nominated by colleges and universities nationwide.

It is estimated that over 5,000 students applied for their university’s nomination. Each institution may nominate only four students (plus one additional transfer student) for this award.