back to news April 7, 2017

Arts and Sciences Undergraduate Researchers Shine at 2017 Denman Forum

Arts and Sciences undergraduates were front and center at the 22nd annual Denman Undergraduate Research Forum, held March 29. Forty ASC students took top awards in 20 categories. The forum — coordinated by the Undergraduate Research Office and generously supported by Richard J. and Martha D. Denman, the Office of Research, the Office of Undergraduate Education, and corporate and private donors — offers a unique opportunity for young researchers to gain experience presenting and explaining their work to a panel of judges in a professional research setting. Student winners are recognized at an awards ceremony and receive cash prizes.

Students at the Denman Awards

Seventeen Arts and Sciences students took first place (five more than last year): DeYong Ashley, chemistry, Seth Lyon, biochemistry; Tracy Okine, neuroscience, Alayna Rowell, speech and hearing science; Sophia Zupanc, economics, Havovi Desai, music; Nicole Puccetti, psychology, Nicholas Crescimanno, physics, Laurence King, physics, Jordan Henry, history, Catherine Mendel, anthropological sciences; Annie Zhang, microbiology, Zaina Ujayli, English, Kylee Smith, dance, Tyler MacDonald, political science, John Widenthal, microbiology; Farhad Choksy, political science.  

Fifteen students placed second: Nicholas Mitchell, chemistry/biochemistry; Sydney Sillart, chemistry/biochemistry; Stephen Hadick, evolution, ecology and organismal biology (EEOB); Joe Twinem, political science; Ankit Vohra, actuarial science;  Emily Allen, neuroscience; Tyler Knaplund, German; Kaeli Hughes, physics; Melissa Bittner, EEOB; Robert Smith, molecular genetics; Manuel Torres, molecular genetics; Jessica LaHote, French; Coleen Thompson, EEOB; Emiko Waight, EEOB; Kaitlyn Funk, political science.    

Eight students placed third: Mehta Milauni, chemistry/biochemistry; Rao Harsha, chemistry/biochemistry; Kate Conroy, psychology; Olivia Fitzpatrick, psychology; Scott Hull, Earth sciences; Alec Moore, EEOB; Anna Javins, speech and hearing science; Alaina Monsey, microbiology.

Students and judges at the Denman Awards

They successfully took on this diverse field of challenging, complex topics:

  • Addressing Complex Questions in Chemical and Biochemical Sciences
  • Animal Science: From Cattle to Bees to Seabirds and Beyond
  • Assessment and Prevention of Diseases, Injuries, Medical Errors, and Surgical Complications
  • Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Building Healthy Lifestyles and Strong Communities
  • Business Solutions in a Global Economy
  • Contextual Mental Functioning and Human Behavior
  • Earth and Planets
  • Ecological and Environmental Sciences: From Farming and Fisheries and Beyond
  • Emerging Issues in Healthcare Policy, Administration and Workforce
  • Histories of Literatures, Religions and Cultures
  • Human Origin, Society and Culture
  • Improving Health Related Outcomes through Testing, Monitoring and Evaluation
  • Innovation in Infection, Immunology and Beyond
  • Linguistics and Emerging Cultural Issues
  • Meaning and Motion in the Arts
  • Media and Online Spaces
  • Micro and Macro Views of Biology
  • Numbers and Graphs
  • Rights, Resources and Political Action

Kudos to all students who participated and to their dedicated faculty advisors and mentors, who inspire and motivate these young undergraduate researchers every day — not just in the weeks leading up to the Denman. In this powerful research arena, such work speaks to the value of an Arts and Sciences education to successfully address a multitude of problems and issues.

Congrats to the 40 @ASCatOSU students who took top awards in 20 categories at the 2017 Denman Forum #ASCDaily