back to news Nov. 27, 2018

Five Arts and Sciences faculty named 2018 AAAS Fellows

Five Arts and Sciences faculty members have been elected as 2018 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) — one of the most prestigious honors given to U.S. researchers who have made exceptional efforts to advance science. Fellows are selected by their academic peers.

AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific organization, has named fellows every year since 1874, with notable previous fellows including Thomas Edison, Margaret Mead and James Watson. Ohio State’s new AAAS Fellows are:

  • Juan Alfonzo, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor and professor of microbiology. For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular parasitology and RNA biochemistry, using cellular and biochemical approaches to elucidate mechanisms of tRNA editing and modification.
  • John Casterline, Robert Lazarus Professor in Population Studies, director of the Institute for Population Research, and professor of sociology. For distinguished contributions to the field of social demography, particularly for studies of fertility, family planning and the demographic transition in developing nations in Africa.
  • Jennifer Crocker, Ohio Eminent Scholar and professor of psychology. For cutting-edge research that continually pushed social psychology forward (from covariation judgments to stereotypes to stigma to self-esteem to compassion) and for extensive professional leadership.
  • Russell Fazio, Harold E. Burtt Chair in Psychology and professor of psychology. For outstanding research and theorizing about the multiple processes by which attitudes form and then influence attention, categorization, judgment and behavior.
  • Ellen Peters, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor, director of the Decision Sciences Collaborative, and professor of psychology. For contributions to basic research on affect, numeracy, and risky decision-making, and for translational research on communicating health risks and improving medical decisions and policies.

“These five faculty represent what makes Ohio State a national leader in research that serves Ohio, the nation and the world,” said Morley Stone, senior vice president for research. “We are pleased to see our highly ranked Department of Psychology get special recognition, with three new AAAS Fellows.”

The new fellows will be honored at a ceremony at the annual AAAS meeting in February in Washington, D.C.

Alfonzo, Casterline, Crocker, Fazio and Peters join more than 200 AAAS Fellows at Ohio State, and over half of this elite cadre belongs to the Arts and Sciences.

Five @ASCatOSU professors named new @AAAS Fellows. #ASCDaily

An initial version of this article was published on