back to news Dec. 21, 2020

New endowed faculty positions, funds established in College in Arts and Sciences

Last month, The Ohio State University Board of Trustees approved the name change of the Department of Theatre, Film, and Media Arts following unanimous approval by the faculty of the Department of Theatre, the Council on Academic Affairs and the University Senate.

Other significant milestones and philanthropic contributions that were recognized across multiple departments and areas include:

Newly Filled Endowed Positions

Georgios Anagnostou, professor and director of the Modern Greek Program, has been named the inaugural holder of the Miltiadis Marinakis Endowed Professorship of Modern Greek Language and Culture. This professorship was established with funds raised collectively by the Greek community — with gifts from members of the Ohio Hellenic Paideia (formerly the Modern Greek Steering Committee) and Evangelos Marinakis.

Housed in the Department of Classics in the College of Arts and Sciences, the Modern Greek Program provides a comprehensive and systematic introduction to the Greek world of the last 10 centuries, and especially to its contemporary social reality and intellectual achievement. The program offers courses in language, arts, culture, Greek America, folklore and more.

Renewed Endowed Positions

Brad Bushman, professor of communication, has been reappointed to the Margaret Hall and Robert Randall Rinehart Chair. This endowed position was established in 2005 with gifts from the estates of Margaret Hall and Robert Randall Rinehart ’37 and the Rinehart Family Trust.

Bushman’s research focuses on the causes, consequences and solutions to the problem of human aggression and violence.

Norman Johnson, professor and director of the C. A. Triplehorn Insect Collection, has been reappointed to the Martha N. and John C. Moser Chair in Arthropod Biosystematics and Biological Diversity. This endowed chair was established in 2014 thanks to the generosity of Dr. John C. Moser ’51, MS ’54.  

Johnson’s research in recent years has been a combination of systematics of Scelionidae and biodiversity informatics.

Alexander Wendt, professor of political science, has been reappointed to the Ralph D. Mershon Professorship in National Security Studies. This endowed professorship was established at Ohio State in 2004.

Wendt’s study centers on the philosophical aspects of social science, with special reference to international relations.

Newly established named endowed funds

Dr. David C. DeMartini Undergraduate Research Endowed Fund in Physics

Established by David DeMartini PhD ’69, through the David C. DeMartini Foundation. This endowed fund will provide summer research support in perpetuity to undergraduate students studying in the Department of Physics.

The Willke Family Endowed Fund for Health Economics

Established by Dr. Richard J. Willke ’76 and Brenda L. Willke MS ’83. This new endowment will provide support for faculty and students who have a focus on health economics in the Department of Economics. Resources from this endowment will provide assistance for undergraduate or graduate students, lectures or conferences, research funds, travel awards or other needs which advance the teaching and research in the health economics program.