back to news July 22, 2019

Two faculty honored with Presidential Early Career Awards

Amanda Hummon, associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry, and Chuan Xue, associate professor of mathematics, were named recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), which is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government to outstanding scientists and engineers at the outset of their research careers. The White House announced the recipients of the prestigious honor in early July.

Established in 1996, the PECASE recognizes scientists and engineers who show exceptional promise for leadership and acknowledges the contributions they have made to the advancement of science, technology, education and mathematics (STEM) education and to community service through scientific leadership, public education and community outreach. The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy coordinates the PECASE Awards, which are conferred annually following recommendations from participating federal research agencies. 

Amanda HummonAmanda Hummon

Hummon, an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, was nominated by the National Science Foundation when she was on the faculty at the University of Notre Dame. She is an expert in analytical chemistry and cancer biology, and her research focuses on developing analytical methods to identify, evaluate and understand the molecular underpinnings of cancer.

Chuan XueChuan Xue

Xue, also nominated by the NSF, is an associate professor in the Department of Mathematics who researches new mathematical models and methods to address fundamental questions in cell and developmental biology, such as how cells communicate, self-organize and coordinate with each other to maintain health and prevent diseases.

Hummon and Xue join more than 300 additional 2019 awardees, including former Department of Microbiology faculty member Kelly Wrighton, who’s now an assistant professor at Colorado State University in the College of Agricultural Sciences.

The recipients will be honored at a July 25 ceremony in Washington, D.C.