Ohio State nav bar

Physics, Department of


Physics Research Building
191 West Woodruff Ave
Columbus, OH 43210

Michael Poirier

The Department of Physics at the Ohio State University is one of the university's largest and most diverse departments. As a department in the division of Natural and Mathematical Sciences in the College of the Arts and Sciences, the Department of Physics occupies the Physics Research Building as well as instructional and advising space in Smith Laboratory, the former home of the department. The department currently has 54 faculty and approximately 60 postdoctoral researchers and research scientists, 190 graduate students, and 500 undergraduate majors.